The Colin Cheong Collection

3.2 rating
The Colin Cheong Collection
Author: Colin Cheong
Publish: 2011
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9789814346382
Pages: 452
Language: English

The Colin Cheong Collection

3.2 rating

Prolific writer Colin Cheong brings together three classic novellas and 23 short stories in this first-ever collection. Written in the 1990s, each story reflects his prowess as a storyteller. He is known for his sensitive and skillful articulation of some universal human themes — the pain of rejected love, the frustration and anticipation of being ‘almost adult’, the rites of passage to adulthood, and man’s need for woman.

This collection comprises:
Seventeen (novella, published 1996)
Poets, Priests and Prostitutes (novella, published 1990)
The Man in the Cupboard (novella, published 1999) – won the Merit Award, Singapore Literature Prize 1998
Life Cycle of Homo Sapiens, Male (short stories, published 1992)
Five new stories, previously only published in The Straits Times


Books By This Author

Colin Cheong
Author Details:

Colin Cheong is one of Singapore"s more prolific contemporary writers. At the age of 15, he interned at the now defunct newspaper New Nation and contributed to an army magazine, Pioneer, during his National Service days. From Secondary 3 till the year before he graduated from university, he was a photographer and stage actor.

He has written or edited nearly 30 books, four of which have won national awards. He won the Singapore Literature Prize in 1996 for his novel, Tangerine, which was written like a travel diary.

Comments & Ratings By Readers

0.0 rating